Jan. 1, 2008, will begin the Year of the Frog. What makes it The Year of the Frog? It’s an extraordinary declaration by the World Association of Zoos & Aquariums, and other conservation organizations, to get attention for the plight of amphibians.  I’m Jeff Davis and I am helping some amazing scientists tell the story of the 2,000+ species of amphibians that could disappear in our lifetime because of a lot of bad things in the environment.  If I told you that the villains in this case are pollution and loss of habitat, you’d respond, “duh.” But the most immediate threat is a fungus that escaped from the southern part of Africa around the time of World War II.  My blog will help to tell the whole story of how we got to this point, and what is being done to avert the mass extinction of frogs, toads, salamanders, newts, and caecelians.  Believe me, there are lots of you out there who know a lot more about this than I do,  so I welcome your input and criticism. My skin’s a lot thicker than a frog’s.  More soon…

